An Explanation of 128 of 365 for 2009 – Bent

Bent

Several comments about yesterdays post asked for an explanation of the shot. The shot I’ve included above is the original shot, all I did was resize, see here for the final version. What I did to get the final product was, first, crop to show just the bend in the tree. Second, I added a duplicate layer to which I added gaussian blur at 50% overlay. Then a added I duplicate layer that I applied a warming filter to, 100% overlay. Then a hard light duplicate layer that was converted to black and white infrared. I removed the lens flare just to the left of the bend in the tree and I think that does it.

Lest you think I’ve been slaving away on Photoshop Elements for years, keep in mind that I’ve had the program not even four months. So, if I can do it, you can do it. EXPERIMENT, that is the key. You can always undue (or in the case of RAW files you always have your original file). I’ve learned so much of what I have just through monkeying around.

~ by Ted R on May 10, 2009.

3 Responses to “An Explanation of 128 of 365 for 2009 – Bent”

  1. I was just impressed but now I’m depressed, four MONTHS you need to be suppressed, compressed, then redressed. I loved the original but this with the explanation is outstanding. Jealous of you logic skills.

  2. Isn’t it amazing the effects you can do by just “playing” – keep dong what you are dong because it is definitely working!!

  3. Wow, what a great shot and you made it even better by experimenting. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
