118 of 365 for 2009 – Closely Cropped

Closely Cropped

I fabricated a homemade snoot for my Speedlite using the instructions I saw here. I then went around the house blinding my kids with my new toy. That actually took some doing since they all run away whenever I take out the flash, “don’t flash me with that flashy thing Dad!”.

I happened upon this tulip and quickly discovered it didn’t try to get away. I flashed it with my flashy thing and got the result shown above.

I dialed down the aperture to f22 and set my shutter speed to 1/250. This killed all ambient light leaving me with only light from the flash coming into play. There are so many variables in this scenario I am sure I could play around for hours with camera settings and lighting, but alas, I do have a job to attend to in the morning so I’ll call it a night.

~ by Ted R on April 30, 2009.

7 Responses to “118 of 365 for 2009 – Closely Cropped”

  1. Absolutely stunning! I love this, it brings a glow to that tulip center!!

  2. Your reds are replicated well. I have trouble with that sometimes. I have been trying various settings to attempt to match what my brain says my eye sees, which then translates to my computer screen but rarely to the pinter. LOL. My reds sometimes look pinkish or purplish. Do you do anything special? I have a D80.

    • Terri,

      Is the problem that what you see on your monitor doesn’t match what your printer produces? If so, it is likely a problem of printer calibration with your monitor. Your monitor and your printer use different ways of interpreting colors and if they haven’t been adjusted to work together your colors may not print like you see them on your monitor. There is a good article here about color management as well as other good articles on that site about how to calibrate your monitor. I would first try the least expensive solution and calibrate your monitor by eye based on a print you’ve made. This may get you close enough. If you want a more professional solution you’ll have to spend some money on a calibrator. With a properly calibrated monitor you should be able to hit the print button and get out of the printer exactly what you see on the monitor. Don’t be intimidated, take it one step at a time and you’ll get it.

      Another thing to keep in mind is your perception of color will change depending on the color of the room your are in and how it is lit. I try to process my photos at night in my office so I have the same room color and light for all my photos (next time we paint the office I am going to paint it 18% grey, which should give me the best neutral environment for photo editing).

      The type of camera you use shouldn’t matter too much if you are post processing after you take your photos. If you are shooting JPG’s in your camera then you are giving up some of the control to the camera, but you should be able to color correct in post processing without any issues.

      Hope that helps.

  3. Gorgeous color. Nice shot.

  4. I like the result of the background receding into blackness. Thanks for the link to the snoot. I made one when I first got my speedlight but really haven’t experimented much with it. Actually, I need to explore my speedlight itself more – I’m really not understanding it very well.

  5. When that flower learns to run, whatcha gonnado, terrific treatment and great lesson for us all not just Terri, thanks.

  6. Nice shot – sounds like yet another technique to tempt me! Where’s that winning lottery ticket so I have the time…

Leave a Reply

 
