95 of 365 for 2009 – What’s for Dinner

What's for Dinner?

A Belted Kingfisher hunting for his supper. I love watching these birds study the water for minutes at a time, then, they fall off the pier and dive into the water. Sometimes they come up with nothing and sometimes they are successful. After four tries, this one was finally successful.

Update: Added link to Belted Kingfisher page

~ by Ted R on April 5, 2009.

15 Responses to “95 of 365 for 2009 – What’s for Dinner”

  1. I like the textures in this photo. It’s funto watch birds dive for their dinner!

  2. The “bad hair day” only adds to his vigil, waiting for his dinner. Looks like he just woke up and forgot to comb his hair! 😀 The color, sky and lighting add to the weight of the wait! Oops! No pun intended! Texture of the piling plays off the background and grounds the scene. Swell work.

  3. What a beautiful bird. Glad he was successful.

  4. Wonderful shot. The bird is terrific and he sounds like so much fun to watch.

  5. Love this little guy – I don’t think I have ever seen one! I love it’s hair do – LOL! It looks like he is hunting hard!

  6. What’s the “belted” part, Ted? He looks very contemporary with that hairstyle! 🙂

    • The “belted” comes from the belts of colored feathers it has. Seen here you can see the front side of the slate blue belt. On the female there is a rufous (brownish red) belt in addition to the slate belt. See Here for more information. Pretty neat bird and fun to watch.

  7. Qute little fellow with all his attention on the water

  8. Great bird and photo. I would love to see him drop into the water for a catch.

  9. Seems like he is perusing the menu to see what’s on offer, then he’ll make his selection. Top Dusk shot.

  10. Great shot. I like the angle and light. I have see three different types of kingfishers in our area and they are great fun to watch.

  11. It is a wonderful shot. I like how his beak is just barely open. Would love to see him in action…

  12. I’m still trying for a kingfisher picture. They’re just too quick for me! Great shot!

  13. That’s great – he looks so patient. I don’t get many interesting or beautiful birds here, so I love these kinds of shots.

  14. A great shot of my favorite bird! (well, top 3)

Leave a Reply

 
