63 of 365 for 2009 “Smoke”

"Smoke"

I thought about putting this one under “Guilty Pleasures” but decided I didn’t like that since I don’t feel guilty enjoying a fine cigar now and again. Everything in moderation I say. Although I think Mr. Twain may have taken it too far:

“It has always been my rule never to smoke when asleep, and never to refrain when awake.”

“If there are no cigars in Heaven, I shall not go.”

~Mark Twain

It turns out lighting this shot was tricky since the ash tray reflected the light so well. I suspect a multi-flash configuration would have been best with all the flashes dialed down and close to balanced with the ambient light. However, I don’t have the luxury of multiple flashes so this will do, my 430 EXII with shoot-through umbrella.

I am learning a lot from this site about lighting, wow. So much to learn.

UPDATE: the lighting issue wasn’t WordPress, it was my monitor at work. It was displaying this too dark.

~ by Ted R on March 4, 2009.

15 Responses to “63 of 365 for 2009 “Smoke””

  1. I hate smoking and the odor of cigarettes. I lost my husband to cancer due to the habit, but I do like the smell of a really good cigar. Go figure. And if it is just once in a while, I certainly can’t fault you on your habit. We all have them – bad habits that is. 😀

    This shot is really a stark photo what with the black page and the background of your subject matter, and being B&W. Yet, I don’t see any smoke. I guess the stoggie is a “smoke”, huh?

    • Yes, a cigar is a “smoke”.

      The lighting in this photo is worse as shown here on WordPress than it was when I was finished editing it in Elements. Occasionally I’ve found that something WordPress does to the photos in the process of preparing them for the site ruins them. In this case the lighting is off. If I were at home I’d upload a new one, oh well.

  2. Then again there is the Kipling quote that: “A woman is just a woman, but a good cigar is a SMOKE!”
    Don’t blame me Karen (kisbear) Kipling said it before I was born, and it fits. Great shot, Well done.

  3. I think it is a fabulous photo. It brought back many childhood memories. I occasionally went to work with my father who was in business with his father and uncle. We would always go to the same restaurant for lunch and the 3 of them smoked their cigars and needless to say the smoke went in my face!!

  4. Looks like some one just left. Strobist is amazingly informative. I’m curious about what the ‘crunching’ WordPress did.

  5. I like the moodiness of this shot (even if it did elicit a little jab from Ron). And I’ll be checking out that lighting link too – that’s an area I need to explore more.

  6. What a nice photo! Where are the ashes? A friend of mine has a place of business with a separate room just for cigars. I love walking into the big, cool room and smelling the cigars (unlit, of course). I love the lighting in your photo. Good job.

  7. You did great with the lighting on this, Ted. That’s an area I really need to work on.

    • There are so many variables, thus making it daunting to me. But, one step at a time.

  8. while I am not a fan of cigars I can’t help but appreciate the art that this has created – YOu did a great job capturing the smoke and the lighting

  9. Love the lighting in this. I do have to say for a picture of a cigar this is really classy!

  10. simple yet effective, nice shot

  11. You made an incredible image here, Ted.

Leave a Reply

 
