33 of 365 for 2009 “Vapor”

"Vapor"enlarge

A series of planes made these lines it seems and it wouldn’t be right not to photograph this sky. I saw this while zooming down I-5 today and thought to myself, “that is kind of a narrow shoulder on which to pull over”. So, I waited for the next exit and was able to still see the vapor left by the planes.

When exposing the sun directly I haven’t come to a conclusion on how bright is too bright. I have a few versions of this photo stopped down that look good but then the sky is too dark, a classic problem with this kind of lighting I suppose. What do you all think?

Yes, this is the sky as seen today in the Puget Sound region. It doesn’t always rain!

~ by Ted R on February 3, 2009.

10 Responses to “33 of 365 for 2009 “Vapor””

  1. Good idea for “vapor” and the lighting? well, sometimes the unintentional works out very well as it did here. The vapor trails are highlighted, maybe better than if the shot were “correctly” exposed.

  2. Wow, love this image, the lighting and vapor trails are very cool!

  3. I think it makes for an interesting shot and love the dark blue tones.

  4. I think this is a great photograph. the message of the theme is well captured here.

  5. Very nice!

  6. I think it’s just right. Great photo!
    (I had a lady tell me once that the vapor trails were where the government was drugging the people to keep us all under control. She was totally serious! Didn’t work so well, did it? Makes you wonder where she escaped from, eh?)

  7. Cool shot, looks like God is playing tic-tac-toe. I think the exposure is spot on for the vapor, besides bright sky can make you squint.

  8. fantastic shot! love all the colors and all the detail in the sky!!

  9. Oh, this is SO strange!!! I saw something similar (actually, it was almost identical) here in California on the same day!! But I was in the car on Highway 4, which is a narrow curvy road with no place to pull over!! Glad YOU were able to get such a great shot!

  10. I think its an awesome shot!

Leave a Reply

 
