13 of 365 for 2009 “Local Landmarks”

"Local Landmarks"ENLARGE

Around here Mt. Rainier is a pretty well known landmark. We had an unusually clear day Sunday that allowed for some nice photos. I’ve seen this mountain nearly my whole life and never tire of looking at it. If I had stuck around I could have gotten some beautifully lit shots of the mountain later that day at sunset.

I’ve linked my photos now so that you can click on them and get a bigger version.

~ by Ted R on January 20, 2009.

11 Responses to “13 of 365 for 2009 “Local Landmarks””

  1. Yep, that’s the old lady, alright! Like you, when we lived there I could never get enough of viewing her. At one time, we lived on the 7th floor of a building in the “U” District and had an unobstructed view (well, usually, lol) of the mountain. I didn’t even have a camera then! I often said I wanted to take photos of her during various weather and times of days and make a book of her many faces. Grand photo. Have you visited my site to view MY photo of her? Please do.

  2. Fantastic Ted! Looks like you were half way up. I’m so glad you put the link in to see a bigger image.

  3. She is stunning. My husband & I vacationed there last year and I couldn’t believe all of the wild flowers! Definitely God’s canvas! gorgeous!

  4. Fabulous, absolutely fabulous!!

  5. Beautiful! I’ve never seen Mt. Ranier but it’s on my list for someday. Our mountains here in VA are so much older and worn down to mere foothills compared to yours out west.

  6. That is stunning! I hope everyone clicks for the larger view – the detail is amazing. Thanks so much for sharing this local landmark with us!

  7. what a fantastic view! and that sky is just as perfect as they come truly magnificent

  8. You left a message on my site regarding my photo of Mt. Rainier: [coffeemonkey said… “Holy Smokes, your main photo of Rainier is awesome. Were you on a commercial flight when you took that or a small plane? . . . . . . . Nice!”]

    Thanks Ted! One is hard pressed to get any better praise than “Holy Smokes!” Wow! Thank you!!!! Glad you liked my photo of Mt. Rainier.

    This was on a commercial flight out of Sea-Tac. I placed my old camera right up against the window to avoid flash back. That is why it was a truly-pure “point ‘n shoot” adventure. I was pleased with it, but being pleased just turned into something more with your “Holy Smokes!” šŸ˜€

  9. I’m new here, and just finished adding the 365ers blogroll to my new photoblog and now I finally have time to visit. I love your set so far.

    Gorgeous mountain! How awesome to have Mt. Rainier as your local landmark! I’ve seen 46 of the 50 states but have missed the Northwest so far. Maybe next vacation.

    My blog is at http://thedailyshoot.wordpress.com.

    Bo

  10. I love this shot, the bigger the better

  11. […] decided to revisit a previous entry using an infrared technique I’ve been trying out. It seems to work pretty well here. What do […]

Leave a Reply

 
