6 of 365 for 2009 “Obsession”

"Obsession"

It is an obsession of mine to keep taking sunset shots, especially when it involves clouds, trees and water. I’ve got a sickness! I tried to make up for the fact that I blew some highlights by darkening the area near the sun but it is still too bright, the sun should be bright though I guess, it is the sun after all. I bumped the saturation in the sky to get back the blue that was washed out by the exposure, though I added probably more than was really there for effect. When I composed this shot I fired off about 6 rounds or so all progressively stopped down, goes to show that metering the light correctly is tough sometimes.

~ by Ted R on January 7, 2009.

10 Responses to “6 of 365 for 2009 “Obsession””

  1. Just got back from trying to do the same thing but no real luck, might have a few good cloud shot though, your shot is tranquil.

  2. Very nice with the tree branches silhouetted against the colorful sky.

  3. A stunner of a shot! Funny about your obsession – I guess we all have them…. 😉

  4. But wow, whatever you did was RIGHT! This is stuningly beautfiul!! Love it!!

  5. It worked! I love this shot.

  6. A beautiful shot.
    Sometimes you want blown out highlights! It works perfectly in this one.

  7. It’s a great transition in colors….and there are worse obsessions to have

  8. Just gorgeous!

  9. I really like this shot but I’m not sure why. The blue color for one; the lines lead my eyes all about the image; the transition from top to bottom. Nice, very nice.

  10. This is a beautiful shot. A scene that would be a wonderful backdrop for a nice quite cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

 
